PDA

View Full Version : Please talk some sense into my buddy..

BLewis
05-25-2009, 01:15 AM
So a coworker of mine has been losing quite a bit of weight over the last several months. About 110lbs., to be exact. I've been trying to get my diet right so I asked him what his diet was like. This is what he wrote:

Monday - Friday

Meal 1: Myoplex shake
Meal 2: Pure Protein Brand protein bar
Meal 3: Myoplex shake
Meal 4: Normal meal around 300 calories
Meal 5: Pure Protein Brand protein bar
Meal 6: Myoplex shake
Meal 7: Normal meal around 300 calories

Weekends eat whatever.

I'm no expert, but it doesn't exactly seem healthy to live basically on almost nothing but protein shakes/bars and 2 300 calorie meals 5 days a week. I mean, it obviously helped him to lose weight. But there has to be some consequences to eating like this. Am I right? What is he doing to his body?

big-dipper
05-25-2009, 01:21 AM
its not proper food its just bars n shakes

BLewis
05-25-2009, 01:27 AM
I understand that. That's what I'm trying to tell him. You can't live off that stuff alone. But he sees that he lost all this weight by eating this, so therefore he thinks it's a good diet. What is this doing to his body?

big-dipper
05-25-2009, 01:52 AM
i dont have a clue wat hes doin to his body but i would of thought its not good tho because he aint getting the proper nutriants or fats or watever but i dunno

tom183
05-25-2009, 02:04 AM
Define 'normal meal around 300 calories'.

sCaRz*Of*PaiN
05-25-2009, 04:49 AM
There are no normal 300 calorie meals. That's like half a sandwich. His diet I'm guessing is severely lacking in nutrients and variety. Protein, protein, protein, extremely tiny meal, protein, protein, extremely tiny meal. It's great he lost weight, but he needs to steer toward a healthier diet.

jp2
05-25-2009, 04:59 AM
I think he needs to drop those protein bars and just eat some fruits and veggies instead

Travis Bell
05-25-2009, 05:41 AM