PDA

View Full Version : 5X5 Question

bluelew
06-09-2009, 11:02 PM
Been doing a 5x5 where I am obviously doing a ton of volume squating 3 times a week, benching twice with a day of close grip, rowing twice a week and deads once. It has been a mental and physical test to say the least. I have hit all of the prescribed weights and reps until today. The bench workout called for progressively heavier weight for 5 sets of 5. If I had done the workout backwards, I would have nailed every rep and set. My question is: is there a legit reason for the progressively heavier weights or could I do the workout in reverse as long as the volumes the same?

Cmanuel
06-10-2009, 01:14 AM
Are you doing the madcow intermediate 5x5?

I am not sure what you mean by "backwards". Can you clarify? Do you mean you would have been able to hit all weights by doing the exercises in a different order, or by starting with heavier weights and progressing to lighter weights?

I have a lot of experience w/ this particular program but need clarification from you before being able to help.

bluelew
06-10-2009, 08:59 AM
Yes, it's the 5x5 intermediate. I was talking about starting with the heavier weights (after warmup of course) and progressing to the lighter ones. Is this a bad idea? Thanks much.

Notorious
06-10-2009, 02:15 PM
The lighter weights serve as a warm-up for the heavier ones (and if you started with the heavier weights you would still have to warm up). If you're tired for your last set, you're doing something wrong. How long are you resting in between sets?

-JM-
06-10-2009, 04:30 PM
As far as I know, you can go ahead and do that. I did read somewhere that 5x5s can be done in a variety of ways that best suits the lifter?

I will find the link and post it up.

Edit :Here ya go (http://www.criticalbench.com/5x5_system_build_muscle.htm)

bluelew
06-10-2009, 06:32 PM