PDA

View Full Version : The Pit - MMA Training DVD

KoSh
06-24-2009, 11:33 AM
I've been wanting to begin to train MMA, but money is an obstacle.

I'd like to be able to do the MMA training at home, (so not the actually fighting part, just the techniques and conditioning aspects), but I don't want it to conflict with my weight training too much. (I know it will a bit)

Someone recommended "The Pit" DVDs to me. Does anyone have any experience with these? I have no equipment... So I'd have to stick to the BW stuff...

Any recommendations?

Y2A
06-24-2009, 03:05 PM
Hey man,
I've been training in BJJ and Muay Thai for about 6 months. Would you be training with a partner? If so, I'm sure a DVD with techniques (I'm not sure which ones are good or about "the pit") could teach you quite a bit. All you would need for equipment is really just gloves and a mouthpiece to practice stand-up, just a mouthpiece to grapple. If you don't have someone to train with, I really don't know how you'd be able to learn much. I'm not saying it can't be done though.

fitnhealthydad
06-24-2009, 03:57 PM
If you don't have someone to train with, I really don't know how you'd be able to learn much.

^^THIS.

Do you have any experience at all with training in any type of martial style? If you're serious about doing it, you need a trainer. Even if it's just someone there to critique your form in the beginning rather than a full-on, expensive trainer.