PDA

View Full Version : first strongman event

WyztaTrjnsFtbll
07-16-2009, 11:41 PM
yes im a strongman rookie.ive got my first strongman event this saturday its gonna be sweet. any tips on preperation as in rest or routines so im ready to go saturday? what warmups should i do before the truck pull? also wut do i need the night before and more importantly the morning of?

Jesse Hernandez
07-16-2009, 11:49 PM
yes im a strongman rookie.ive got my first strongman event this saturday its gonna be sweet. any tips on preperation as in rest or routines so im ready to go saturday? what warmups should i do before the truck pull? also wut do i need the night before and more importantly the morning of?

lol, your competing this saturday and your asking questions 1 day before the meet? a big...WTF bro.

Truck pulls, warmups. Well lets see, you'll need arms and legs. So lets start there.

The night before, you need FOOD,SLEEP and more SLEEP.
The morning of, a GOOD BREAKFAST.

But more importantly, you need to ask these questions way in advance.

mastermonster
07-17-2009, 01:03 AM
Jesse is right! I've only done one of them and that was 2 years ago. I was lucky enough to find a group over in Georgia I got in 2 training sessions with before my meet. They really concentrated on technique with the events that weren't PL events. I ended up 3rd in the Masters but if I'd not gotten at least the small amount of 'education' I did, I would not have been able to set a single stone or get even 1 flip with the 705 lb. tire. People who I killed on the DL event killed me on the tires and Atlas stones. Proper technique means at least as much as strength in Strongman! That being said; take Jesse's short term advice, and good luck. This 1st one will definately let you know what to work on for the next one!

Tom Mutaffis
07-17-2009, 09:15 AM

Good luck in your contest.