PDA

View Full Version : Severed Ties' article: Carb restriction dieting

Jane
04-21-2002, 09:17 AM
After reading this article, I am hoping to get some feedback from the board members. How many people are or have been on a low carbohydrate diet such as atkins, CKD, TKD, etc.? How did you feel? What happend to your body? How did it affect training?

I ask because I'm in ketosis as we speak and have become slightly paranoid about losing muscle.

Also, what did you all think of the article?

Tryska
04-21-2002, 09:25 AM
i've never done a traditional ckd, but i slip in and out of ketosis as necessary....and i've been doing a low-glucose-inducing diet for several months now.

I feel wonderful on it, and energized, much moreso then if i eat a lot of carbs and or sugars. and also i haven't lost any muscle at all on it, although i've been losing bodyfat. I think you ahve to worry about muscle being cannibalized if your calorie intake is too low. But if you are getting enough calories, and your primary source of fuel is fat, because your body is running on ketones, why would muscle be cannibalized? i mean, muscle is a way to get glucose. If you don't need glucose because your bogy is running on ketones, why would catabolism occur?

you know what i mean?

Jane
04-21-2002, 09:33 AM
Good point Tryska. What about training though? Would not getting carbs post training be catabolic?

MonStar
04-21-2002, 11:08 AM
I think that taking in carbs postworkout can be extremely beneficial yes. But personally not taking them in I dont think will make THAT much of a difference. Glycogen replenishment will be sacrificed, and your insulin spike will not happen obviously, but I think that musclemass can be maintained on a low-carb diet. Keep in mind though that NHE is not a ketogenic diet. :cool::cool:

MS

Jane
04-21-2002, 11:11 AM
Actually Monstar I decided to go the CKD route.