PDA

View Full Version : Dead Lift Knee Trouble

murphyj1
08-05-2009, 07:21 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to lifting, but I train with Hazerboy, and he suggested I ask this question here.

I've been deadlifting pretty hard for my abilities lately, but have recently had pain in my knees from the exercise. Last week, I finished with 5x270, and had knee and outer thigh pain all weekend. Today, I had pain during my DL speedwork, and with my barbell rows. I've suffered from knee problems in the past from running, but I'm much more flexible now, and have not been running. I thought that maybe my shoes (running trainers) could be the problem. Also, I always forget to bring the bar close to my shins when I DL. Are either of these common culprits in knee pain during deadlifts? If anyone had any advice on my problem, I would really appreciate it.

Thanks!

Pete22
08-05-2009, 07:48 PM
Outer thigh pain with knee pain sounds like it could be an IT band issue. I'd invest in a foam roller and focus on your IT bands, glutes and hamstrings.

Virtron
08-05-2009, 08:22 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to lifting, but I train with Hazerboy, and he suggested I ask this question here.

I've been deadlifting pretty hard for my abilities lately, but have recently had pain in my knees from the exercise. Last week, I finished with 5x270, and had knee and outer thigh pain all weekend. Today, I had pain during my DL speedwork, and with my barbell rows. I've suffered from knee problems in the past from running, but I'm much more flexible now, and have not been running. I thought that maybe my shoes (running trainers) could be the problem. Also, I always forget to bring the bar close to my shins when I DL. Are either of these common culprits in knee pain during deadlifts? If anyone had any advice on my problem, I would really appreciate it.

Thanks!

google IT band stretch.

bluelew
08-05-2009, 09:12 PM