PDA

View Full Version : What do I need to change??

dtw313
09-08-2009, 01:09 PM
Hello all,

First time posting.

I have been lifting and dieting now for almost 4 months. I am 5'9" and I am 230. I was at 259 but am now stuck at 230, could someone please tell me what I might need to change in my diet?

Breakfast:

1 cup of Rasin Bran w/ 1/2 cup of skim milk

Snack 1:

Banana

Lunch:

turkey sandwich w/ slice of cheese and mustard on whole wheat bread

Snack 2:

Nature Valley granola bar

Snack 3:

grapes or yogurt

Dinner:
Usually Turkey w/ cottage cheese

Everything except dinner is pretty routine.

Thank you in advance

Wayward
09-08-2009, 01:22 PM
Hey.

I'd try dropping your carbs a bit and upping protein/fat a little. If you can afford it, get a protein shake and sub that in as one of your meals.

Some other ideas:

- Instead of the granola bar, do a handful of almonds.
- Instead of the grapes, crack a can of tuna.
- Eliminate bread wherever you can. Pre-cook some chicken breast throughout the week and eat that where you'd normally be eating a sandwich between two slices of bread.
- Eat more veggies!

Do you do any weight training/exercise at all? If not, adding a few days of some low impact cardio could help your cause a lot.

Pretty generic info, and there's some other (more specific) stuff that I am sure others will add to this thread... but the above things seem to work OK for me.

dtw313
09-08-2009, 05:57 PM
Thanks for the reply,

I do 45 min cardio 5 days, burning a min 500 cals.

I do all body parts with weights.

Wayward
09-09-2009, 07:50 AM
Wow, 5 days!

You should definitely not be stuck with that much.

I would definitely try lowering your carb intake a little, and finding some alternatives with a lower GI and high fiber. (veggies, etc.)