PDA

View Full Version : triceps training

allan3
09-10-2009, 05:04 PM
i was wondering how many times a week you guys train your triceps. i only train em once per week- about 2 sets after my bench training. i only do bench once per week as well. my dad is trying to talk me into doing triceps 2x a week- once after bench, and once 3 days later- just a "light" one. i have been training for about 17 years- and have always done a bodypart only once per week. i train for power and strength- no bodybuilder here. :)

NickAus
09-10-2009, 05:18 PM
I think what you have been doing has worked very well for you so far (think you have a 495 raw bench, not sure how much you get out of a shirt).
Most train triceps twice a week, I like doing em twice per week and it seems to be working well but as I said what you are doing has worked for you so far.

allan3
09-10-2009, 05:24 PM
i reckon i have ZERO technique in a shirt so far- but working on it. my dads theory is that i should use the 2nd day as an 'active recovery' and do some light sets- i am new to band presses and board presses etc- and i think that will shock the triceps into getting stronger. he seems to think that the 2nd triceps workout will help them to heal faster.

Pete22
09-10-2009, 05:38 PM
Twice. After my ME day I'll usually train them heavier, and on DE I'll usually go lighter and for more volume. I agree with your dad btw, some active recovery work is great for any muscle group, but especially the tri's as they take a beating with heavy benching.

NickAus
09-10-2009, 05:45 PM
i reckon i have ZERO technique in a shirt so far- but working on it. my dads theory is that i should use the 2nd day as an 'active recovery' and do some light sets- i am new to band presses and board presses etc- and i think that will shock the triceps into getting stronger. he seems to think that the 2nd triceps workout will help them to heal faster.