PDA

View Full Version : Increasing Power Rack height



shawno
09-26-2009, 09:38 PM
I'm thinking about adding 4 x 4's or 6 x 6's to the base of my rack to increase height inside the rack for standing presses. Anyone have any experience or recommendations they could share. Much appreciated.

Thx

NickAus
09-26-2009, 10:03 PM
I use 45lb plates to raise our my rack (I do this to get the pins at a safe height for benching, 4" hole spacing sucks).
I think 2 6x6's per corner for a total of 8 would be safe.

Travis Bell
09-27-2009, 06:17 AM
Just press outside the rack?

joey54
09-27-2009, 06:52 AM
Just press outside the rack?

Maybe he wants to use the safety bars like Vin did in his most recent video?

shawno
09-27-2009, 12:56 PM
Maybe he wants to use the safety bars like Vin did in his most recent video?

Exactly, particularly for Log Presses. My log doesn't fit on the j-hooks so I wanted to setup a strap-loop inside the rack so I don't need to clean it & then if I have to dump it, it's safe.

barbell01
09-27-2009, 03:49 PM
do it, then you can use a wider stance when squatting also...

Judas
09-28-2009, 03:54 AM
The rack at the weightlifting club i go to is propped up with four 12x12" blocks, and they've been using it for years. They dont squat or pull in the rack though, only overhead stuff. I have the same rack at home and i'd have to do that to press in it as well. I'll just end up cutting it near the base and welding in an extra foot ov steel. If you cant do the same then blocks will work just fine.