PDA

View Full Version : Question about getting into PL Competitions

CainMcCloud
11-02-2009, 07:12 PM
I am really new to the idea of Power Lifting, I have been lifting without a routine for nearly a year and half, but I am working on my own routine now, and I was hoping maybe in 6 months or so to get into Power Lifting Competitions for people in my age/weight (gonna be 17 in 3 days, and I am 188 right now, but I'd be around 160ish by then) and here are some questions I have:

1. Where exactly do you go to join a federation/group that competes?

2. Do they have a video that addresses exactly what I could expect to do at a meet, other then lift of course?

3. I have looked on powerliftingwatch.com and in my state, their is like 5-6 competitions in the next 6 months, and I am going to see one in December, but I hear about people doing a lot more then 5-6 in 6 months, do they just travel or are their a lot more smaller ones for each individual federation?

Thanks for any help.

ScottYard
11-02-2009, 07:28 PM
Dude, You are over complicating things. If you want to do a meet. just send your check in and your in. Go to the rules briefing prio to the meet and ask questions. Your paying good money and you have to right to know what you want to. At the meet you will buy a Fed card. Just walk in as what you weight. focus on getting that experience before you wory about weight classes. Meets are every where. pick one and train. Go to the Fed web sit and read the rule book.

Simple as that!

Ambre
11-02-2009, 07:33 PM