PDA

View Full Version : Vegetarian Bodybuilding

RikoRed
04-28-2002, 07:58 AM
I have been a vegetarian since I was born - thats not gonna change.

I was just wondering if there are any other vegetarian bodybuilders out there and if so what kinds of things you eat as a person trying to build up your body.

I have been training for about six months and in that time I've ate tons of rice and pasta, soya burgers, baked beans, peanut butter, egg whites, protein milkshakes - this diet has worked and I have gotten bigger. Any more suggestions? ( I also supplemented with creatine as this is lacking in a vegetarian diet).

Thanks for your responses.

MarshallPenn
04-28-2002, 08:40 AM
You should be fine. Yes, there are many other vegetarian bodybuilders, but they make up a small percentage of the group as a whole. You'll also find a lot of people telling you that you *need* to eat meat, don't listen to them. Good luck.

the doc
04-28-2002, 09:29 AM
hmm well since you're not vegan you should be able to gain. Do you eat dairy?

RikoRed
04-28-2002, 09:33 AM
Yes I eat dairy. I drink plenty of milk protein supplements and try and eat 3 egg whites 5 times a week.

body
04-28-2002, 09:34 AM
bill pearl was a veggie
so was hitler as well

you will just have more difficulty getting protein intakes and some vit/minerals with out supplementing.
other than that, there should be no problem.

trianing and exercise choice etc should be the same.

chris mason
04-28-2002, 09:44 AM
Bill Pearl is a vegetarian bodybuilder, he is still alive. Andreas Cahling is a vegetarian bodybuilder, and I am sure there are a few more not coming to mind at the moment. Since you are a locto-ovo (or at least lacto) vegetarian, there should be absolutely no problem consuming sufficient protein. You do not need nearly the amount of protein that is being pushed today.

Accipiter
04-28-2002, 10:00 AM
yeah, it's doable.

Strahd
04-28-2002, 11:31 AM