PDA

View Full Version : Any tips for squatting out of a monolift?

Painzer
11-11-2009, 12:09 PM
My meet on Saturday will be using a monolift for squats. I've never used one before, always had to walk out my squats.

How does this affect my set up, my squat numbers, etc.?

What can I expect to be different?

BigTallOx
11-11-2009, 12:18 PM
I squat more weight with a monolift. My setup isn't all that different, but saving energy by not having to walk it out results in a bigger squat for me. At my last meet, I ended up doubting what I could do because I don't train in a monolift ( I've only squatted from one at meets ), and thus left quit a bit of weight on the platform. I'd say, since you don't train with a monolift, don't do what I did, make your third attempt significantly higher than your current PR.

Beverly McD.
11-11-2009, 12:21 PM
You can still walk it out if you choose. Just tell the head judge when you get to the platform.
With a monolift you break the weight out of the rack in the exact position you intend to squat. No need to reset your feet etc.
Give it a shot in the warm-up room. If it doesn't feel comfortable, I would suggest just walking it out. Generally it's best to lift at a meet the way you trained in the gym.

Detard
11-11-2009, 12:30 PM
I agree with Beverly, although I squatted an easy 40lb PR in the summer my first time squatting in a monolift.

One thing I can recommend is to get your hips under the bar, and just stand up with it. Make sure your setup is tight and your feet are where you want them from the beginning so you dont waste energy squirming.

Captain_Crunch
11-11-2009, 12:35 PM
Read this article. http://www.elitefts.com/documents/monolifting.htm

Lencho
11-11-2009, 02:34 PM