PDA

View Full Version : My Mission to Put on Serious Mass

-RL-
11-27-2009, 12:42 PM
Hello,

Im making a journal of my new routine that I have just started this week. I recently started lifting about 4 months ago on and off, but now I want to start taking this more seriously and hopefully see some serious gains.

A little information about me. Im 6'1 and 191 pounds, since Ive started lifting Ive gained about 15 pounds.

My goals are to gain mass and become stronger. Initially I thought I would like to bulk to about 210 - 215, but we will see how it goes.

My diet isnt 100% where it should be, but Im trying. Damn its alot of food to consume in a day. Right now Im probably getting about 130 grams of protein a day, not enough I know.

Well here is the exercise I will be using, its basically Starting Strength with a tiny add on. I know people say I shouldnt add anything on, but it has been suggested in an article I was reading. The program is as follows:

Workout A
3x5 Squat
3x5 Bench Press
1x5 Deadlift
2x5-8 dips (only add weight if you are doing >10 bodyweight dips)

Workout B
3x5 Squat
3x5 Standing military press
3x5 Pendlay Rows (or power cleans for 5x3, 5 sets of 3 reps apiece)
2x5-8 chinups ***if you do the power cleans, do 3 sets of chinups***

Daily accessory work:
-45 degree Decline bench weighted situps, 3x5 (hold body parallel to ground for static 5 seconds each repetition on the way down, then go down slowly and come back up)
-Hyperextensions - 3x8 (hold weight across chest or small barbell across back, and don't swing past parallel) - reverse hypers are preferable, but I don't know too many gyms with a reverse hyper.

This program is done 3 days a week just like the real SS.

Thanks for your input.

-RL-
11-27-2009, 12:55 PM
25 Nov 2009 (Week One)

Workout A

Squat 3x5 115pnds
Dumbbell Flat Bench 3x5 40pnds
Deadlift 1x5 192pnds
Assisted Dips 2x8 55pnds

Hyperextension 3x8 25pnds
Situp Machine 3x5 35,40,45pnds