PDA

View Full Version : Milk-Is too much bad for you?

theman
12-13-2009, 04:22 PM
Hey fellas the other day I heard from someone that too much milk is bad for you. It can cause kidney stones. Ouch!! Is that true? I drink about 3-4 litres a day. Thanks.

ryuage
12-13-2009, 04:25 PM
there are a lot of factors that would cause one to get a kidney stone... I doubt milk is one of them. One of the methods is an over production of the calcium controlling hormone, but it has little to do with how much milk you drink.

Titalis
12-14-2009, 09:28 AM
Im no doctor nor do i have any facts, but....what keeps me off of milk is on simple thought.

Name me any mammal on earth that drinks milk after infancy.

Now im sure in moderation its not going to kill you or cause dementia or anything crazy. Just my 2 pennies, wich I now have to send off to the bank for my mortgage.

tnathletics2b
12-14-2009, 09:56 AM
Im no doctor nor do i have any facts, but....what keeps me off of milk is on simple thought.

Now im sure in moderation its not going to kill you or cause dementia or anything crazy. Just my 2 pennies, wich I now have to send off to the bank for my mortgage.

I'll name one: Humans.

alin
12-14-2009, 12:00 PM
IMO, milk is perfectly healthy in moderation.
Nowadays, the main argument against drinking milk is the hormones and such that are injected into commercial cows. If you're really worried about this I'd suggest going organic. I wouldn't be too worried about it though.

I'm no doctor. If you're really worried perhaps you should see one?

We humans evolved to drink milk, among other things. Drinking milk has literally changed our genes. Most animals become sick when drinking milk after weaning. Using this to argue that milk is not good for you is equivalent to saying oxygen is bad for you since the anaerobic microbes from which we evolved did not like oxygen (it killed them).

Titalis
12-14-2009, 12:39 PM
I'll name one: Humans.

Thanks for proving the point I was making.

J.C.