PDA

View Full Version : Hernia??

bojackson
12-14-2009, 07:47 AM
What is the usual protocol on getting these fixed? I have one right above my belly button. It pokes out some but doesnt bother me. Asked a family doctor about it and he said if it isnt bothering me dont worry with it. Can it become a major problem? I entered the strongest of the weak ones and was unable to finish due to my job(im a fball coach and we made the playoffs) so my lifting was limited. I am about to ramp it up on the big 3. Am i ok to go foward?

Tom Mutaffis
12-14-2009, 10:19 AM
What is the usual protocol on getting these fixed? I have one right above my belly button. It pokes out some but doesnt bother me. Asked a family doctor about it and he said if it isnt bothering me dont worry with it. Can it become a major problem? I entered the strongest of the weak ones and was unable to finish due to my job(im a fball coach and we made the playoffs) so my lifting was limited. I am about to ramp it up on the big 3. Am i ok to go foward?

I would make sure to wear a belt for any heavy movements and avoid certain exercises. A friend of mine had the surgery and he was out of work for 4-5 days and was back training again after a few weeks.

Once you have the surgery you will never have the problem again though; they use a steel mesh to patch up your belly button area.

Beverly McD.
12-14-2009, 10:26 AM
My husband Mike had 3 hernia's. He squatted 1003 in the gym both before and after the surgery.

vdizenzo
12-14-2009, 12:32 PM
Once you have the surgery you will never have the problem again though; they use a steel mesh to patch up your belly button area.

Not necessarily true. I am putting that steel mesh to the test, and it's losing.

vdizenzo
12-14-2009, 12:34 PM
You'll know when you need surgery. It hurts like mad when it strangulates.

Beverly McD.
12-14-2009, 12:42 PM
Not necessarily true. I am putting that steel mesh to the test, and it's losing.