PDA

View Full Version : need some advice on squatting

devinvanderhoof
12-28-2009, 03:08 PM
so i got some questions and hopefully someone can point out something i havent already thought of.
first off im 6'2" compete around 270
only have one meet under my belt, im very new to this and havent been training all that long for powerlifting ( been lifting for about 10 years)
my current best gym lift for squat is 515 with 100lbs of chain.
and best gym deadlift is 635

now thats out of the way onto my problem
i suck at squatting. i dont have a video yet but i will as of this sunday so i will post it up asap.

i have no problem hitting depth with a stance about 10-12 inches wider than my shoulders, if i go wider i feel like i can handle more weight but my hips are on fire. if i go any narrower i cant hip depth. i have tried quite a bit of different approaches but to no avail i cant gain a friggen ounce on my squat. im very strong at the top of the squat but very slow off the bottom. like to the point where it looks like im about to eat a sandwich in the hole.
once i get it moving off the bottom im fine but in the hole im dead.

the opposite for my deadlift, i can rip 700 off the ground just cant lock it out. also i deadlift very narrow.
so any and all advice is much appreciated.

thank you in advance

slashkills
12-28-2009, 03:14 PM
What kind of routine do you follow? If your hips are killing you with that stance look into getting some briefs or lower the weight and move your stance in. If you still have trouble hitting depth it could be a flexibility issue. Box squats below parallel, GHRs, and stiff legged deadlifts are great posterior chain builders that can help boost your squat. Ive also had great success on matt rhodes raw squat routine.For locking out your deadlift try throwing some chains or bands on the bar or doing rack pulls.

devinvanderhoof
12-28-2009, 03:39 PM
as for rountine sunday is squat and deads, then some upper back work on friday.