PDA

View Full Version : Tips for helping to TUCK elbows in shirt

EmptyBarbell
12-28-2009, 07:11 PM
I am having a terrible problem tucking my elbows when benching in my shirt....I have watched video and think I understand what I should be doing with my elbows once I start my descent.... however it just doesn't click... for one reason or another. .... am I correct it stating my elbows should take a direct downward path? similiar if I was doing seated cable rows? in which I pull my shoulder blades together and slide my elbows straight past my lats?... if correct.. what if anything can I practice to help me achieve this better?
Thanks!!:fart:

barbell01
12-28-2009, 07:16 PM
watch youtube videos, lots of them

Schameson
12-28-2009, 08:18 PM
I second watching footage on Youtube, people using your shirt if possible.

You could always try practicing the movement raw, with an empty bar, until it "clicks."

I'm no expert but those are two things that come to mind.

Jonah
12-28-2009, 08:32 PM
Practice the movement itself.

Have someone yell it out to you while benching.

High Board work to overemphasize the elbow flair.

george okunev
12-28-2009, 08:35 PM
I bought some bands, double them over and put them around my elbows. At the top I can straighten my elbows but as I start my descent, the bands pull my elbows in. Right at the bottom, the band tention over my lower chest gives me a small pop of the chest. I did that for 6 months and that helped alot. After that I started benching with the shirt but with lighter weights that I know I can handle and focus mainly on tucking my elbows in. It also helps alot if you have a spotter yelling at you to tuck your elbows in. The last thing I do is close grib bench press with my hands just far apart enough to clear me on either side. Then make sure that my elbows rub past me on either side. I still do all three from time to time to make sure I dont forget to tuck my elbows in.

EmptyBarbell
12-28-2009, 08:50 PM