PDA

View Full Version : Spice up Chicken!

Narinder
05-01-2002, 07:44 AM
Hiya People! I roasted the chicken parts yesterday, it turned out nice :)

It tasted a bit plain though, is there anyway I can spice up the flavour?

The same goes with chicken breasts ?

And what is the best way to cook chicken breasts?

Behemoth
05-01-2002, 01:33 PM
I get a skillet and fry all my chicken, try some hot sauce, salsa, or fat free ranch dressing on it, all are excellent!

Tryska
05-01-2002, 04:18 PM
yeah hot sauce is good on roast chicken as well....but you could try all kinds of seasonings. some good one for chicken are:

lemon, black pepper and some thyme
cajun seasoning
italian seasoning
lemon, garlic and butter
soy sauce and red pepper flakes or teriayaki
barbecue sauce

really there's a mess of flavors your can use.

Narinder
05-01-2002, 04:33 PM
When do I add the seasoning, before, during or after the cooked chicken?

Sorry people, I'm kinda new to cooking so I'm just learning :)

Tryska
05-01-2002, 04:47 PM
before hand.

umm..let's take the first combo for instance.......you would rub the meat down with olive oil, salt, pepper and lemon juice, and then sprinkle with thyme and start roasting.

same goes for all the other combos. basically just rub the seasonings all over the meat and then cook it.

iLUDEd
05-01-2002, 10:38 PM
let the seasoning sink into the chicken for a while 2..

Tiare
05-05-2002, 08:12 AM
I have a good recipe for chicken breast that's very tasty.

1st pound out the chicken breast then marinade it for 10 minutes in water and tomato (I use canned tomato's -diced) with thyme, cumin, salt, pepper and celery.

Put it in the oven and cook it for about an hour (covered) at 350 to 400 degrees. Make sure the chicken breast is always covered with the juice (add water).

comes out tasting fantastic, no added fats and almost no added sugars. You can easily seperate the chicken from the juices if you want. good luck!

G-B
05-05-2002, 10:06 AM