PDA

View Full Version : 7 weeks to train for a fight

McLaughlin
01-14-2010, 06:32 AM
Hey guys,

I've got a 3 round submission fight coming up on March 20 that I need to prepare for.

Here's about me:
5'7 ,, 200lb ,, bit of a gut ,, WEAK cardio

I wrestled 8th-12th grade when I was in school, but it's been about 6 years since then. I've been lifting off and on since summer 2008, but haven't for the last 3 months, since my wife was diagnosed with cancer.

I'm looking for a program to follow, to get me in the best shape possible in 7 weeks, I want to see what are your ideas. I've been thinking of going with the "West Side for Skinny Bastards", but wanted to get some input.

Thanks for any kid of tips or advice you guys can offer.

Oh and I do have a membership to Gold's gym. They've got weights, cardio maachines, and a pool. No track.

DMedley
01-14-2010, 08:55 AM
Hey guys,

I've got a 3 round submission fight coming up on March 20 that I need to prepare for.

Here's about me:
5'7 ,, 200lb ,, bit of a gut ,, WEAK cardio

A three round submission fight is extremely taxing on the Cardiovascular conditioning, so you really need to begin there.

You did not say what weight class you will be competing in so it would be very hard to give specifics. Keep in mind that lack of cardio loses more fights than lack of strength.

Off Road
01-14-2010, 09:00 AM
Keep in mind that lack of cardio loses more fights than lack of strength.

I'm not a fighter but that makes sense to me.

john o
01-14-2010, 11:36 AM
A three round submission fight is extremely taxing on the Cardiovascular conditioning, so you really need to begin there.

You did not say what weight class you will be competing in so it would be very hard to give specifics. Keep in mind that lack of cardio loses more fights than lack of strength.

Spot on. Bodies adjust differently to cutting as well. If I dropped too quickly for I fight I was weak