PDA

View Full Version : How do I connect?



Andre518
02-08-2010, 05:52 AM
I'm thinking of buying a spud inc squat belt not too sure if there will be any else I will need to get to use it. Will I need to get a chain or something to connect the belt to free weight plates? Any help before I decided to buy it would be great. Thanks guys.
http://www.flexcart.com/members/elitefts/default.asp?m=PD&cid=114&pid=1595

Beaker
02-08-2010, 05:59 AM
home depot has lots of choices. depending on what weight you want to use, they have quick release/caribeaner (sp) type of hooks. you can also find plenty of chain selections. id just hook the caribeaner through the belt holes, then attach the single length of chain to the beaner also.

as for attaching the weight to it... your guess is as good as mine, maybe just double length the chain, loop it through the weight and hook it back to the caribeaner?

Edit: all the hooks/caribeaners etc are in the chain aisle.

ScottYard
02-08-2010, 08:15 AM
Look for a plate loader for grips machines. basically a steel tube with a washer welded on one end and a loop of steal on the other for a carribeaner to hook to the belt. We had one of these in college and it worked well.

Tom Mutaffis
02-08-2010, 09:49 AM
You can buy the belt directly from Spud: http://www.southcarolinabarbell.com/salestemplate/newhome.asp?Category=2

The piece of equipment that Scott is talking about is called a 'loading pin'; Elite does not sell them. IronMind has loading pins but they are $51.95:
http://ironmind-store.com/15-Olympic-Plate-Loading-Pin-Carabiner/productinfo/1314-C/

Depending on how much you are looking to load onto the belt I would just start off with some chain (home depot) and then you can always purchase or make a loading pin down the road.

ScottYard
02-09-2010, 07:15 AM
Ahhhh. Thats right a loading pin. Thanks for that.