PDA

View Full Version : 100 lbs dumbbell bench press

dsb
03-27-2010, 01:23 PM
Hey guys.
I'm 16 years old, and I've been lifting for around 7 months now.
Today, I trained chest, and, as I reached 11 reps with 90 lbs dumbbells last chest session, I decided it was time to increase the weight to 100 lbs. So today, with my goal set on getting the 100 pounders for at least a few reps, I reached my goal: I repped out 100 lbs in each hand for 6 reps. I myself was surprised, i thought I'd only get around 4 reps.
I just thought I'd congratulate myself on benching the 100 pounders for 6 reps. I realize that 100 lbs dumbbells is not that much, and that many of you are much stronger. But I think it's not too shabby for a 16 year old who's been lifting for barely 7 months, and so I thought I'd just congratulate myself.

waynemeat
03-27-2010, 02:35 PM
Nice work dsb. Keep at it.

dsb
03-27-2010, 02:39 PM
Thanks waynemeat.:)
I'd be really happy if I was able to hit the 120s for at least a few reps before I turn 17.

dsb
04-05-2010, 06:33 AM
Pretty disappointed today. i was going for 8 reps with the 100 lb 'bells, but only got 7.
The 100 lbs dumbbells are the heaviest at my gym. That will probably become a problem pretty soon, when I get strong enough to use heavier dumbbells.:clown:

borracho
04-05-2010, 07:53 AM
bring duct tape and tape on a couple 2.5 or 5 lb plates to make some 105s/110s. Thats what I've done in the past. It works.

Commute
04-05-2010, 08:01 AM
100pd dumbells are nothing to sneeze at... I see alot of "gym rats" where I work out that aren't even close to that. Keep up the good work!

Coke
04-05-2010, 12:25 PM
You're fortunate to start lifting so young!! Whatever you do, don't quit...already on the mark to be elite.

dsb
04-06-2010, 04:55 PM
Thank you very much for your advice and support guys, it's much appreciated.:)