PDA

View Full Version : constantly learning...

thewicked
04-05-2010, 10:55 PM
been at this for quite some time and obviously i'm still learning..

today after a couple weeks of this form and technique work advice i've gotten here and practiced..the number one being the shoulder blade squeezing and tucking produced another career pr of 365 for 5 reps raw with another in the tank today. At an all time low bodyweight to boot. SMOKED it all!

i also learned something too today.... that you should ALWAYS be trying to master your lifts. This takes a lifetime pursuit of perfection. Just like i've seen many times in my own career that when you think you've got it figured out, you don't know a ****ing thing. In todays session I noticed my right shoulder was feeling it more than my left and started watching my setup and bar path VERY closely. Turns out I favor my right side and carry the weight over to the point it fades during the descent to the right side. horizontally the bar is even but the weight slides to the right. What I've always thought has been "centered" actually isn't. What feels like i'm favoring left really is centered. Tiny things like this make a huge difference not only each session but throughout a career as far as numbers and longevity to name a few. Fixing this BEFORE or even during the press could've given me six or even 7 with how I was grooving today but I LEARNED something which will benefit me just as much as the weight I moved. What I've also discovered throughout my career as a trainer and athlete myself is that you don't tend to notice form and technique issues without either exhausting the muscles with reps to see which diminishes first which takes some time, or in regards to powerlifting and heavy lifting in general, we only tend to see problems when working with maximum weights which is more dangerous for us in a few aspects. The lesson learned here..