PDA

View Full Version : Pic request: Homemade power racks

Cmanuel
04-09-2010, 09:01 AM
So i'm moving into a house in June, and in addition to building a ton of DIY strongman equipment, i'm thinking about having a power rack welded for me. I'm freaking tired of commercial gym life. I really like the EFS racks but I dont want to pay ~1,000 for one (i'm a poor grad student).

So if anyone has any plans drawn up, or pictures of homemade power racks, then lets see them!

Learning2Lift
04-09-2010, 09:08 AM
check out Texas Strength Systems. I believe their racks start at $595. It would also be a good model to go off if you still want to build it yourself.

Travis Bell
04-09-2010, 09:09 AM
Steel prices are way up right now. By the time you pay a welder for the steel, welding and drilling the holes, you're most likely not going to save hardly anything

Cmanuel
04-09-2010, 09:23 AM
Thanks for the help man, i will check that out.

Steel prices are way up right now. By the time you pay a welder for the steel, welding and drilling the holes, you're most likely not going to save hardly anything

Crap, didnt even think about that. I contacted one of the NAS promoters for CO and she is going to put me in contact with about 2-3 local welders who have experience with this stuff, so they should have a good idea of how much it will cost.

Another route is craigslist i suppose, or contacting gyms in the area.

Lones Green
04-09-2010, 10:38 AM
The guy that owns my gym welded his own, he actually just re painted it. I'll take my camera this week and take some pics. It works well, but he's also a really good welder.

Paul Key had 900-1000 sitting in the racks doing reverse band work, and rack pulls are done in it all the time. Not to mention I use the pin stuck through the holes to pull my fat arse into my suit a lot

TomY
04-09-2010, 11:29 AM
http://www.joeskopec.com/scaffold.html