PDA

View Full Version : Whats the least amout of training you can get away with?

ScottYard
04-16-2010, 08:30 AM
Whats the least amout of training you can get away with?

Due to a couple reasons Im only training 2 days a week right now. A bench day followed by the prowler, and a squat and pull day followed by the prowler. I also do an additional 2-3 cardio days on top of that.

Im feeling pretty good right and Im only doing 1 exercise for each body part for assistance work on either two of those days.

Any one else doing this or soemthign similar with results?

tnathletics2b
04-16-2010, 08:50 AM
In season during college baseball, I lifted twice a week with full body workouts along with cardio in between and noticed no loss, but never really gained. Twice a week is maintenance for me- I really need 3 a week to see results like I want.

JK1
04-16-2010, 09:28 AM
When I was a resident, I there were many weeks where I only got to the gym 2 days a week. I still made strength gains. When I made it to the gym, I blasted myself.

I have a good friend who seems to go through spells where she only trains a specific lift every 2-3 weeks or so because of work and other things. She's been known to use meets as her "heavy" workouts doing 2 or 3 of them in succession over a months time. I have no idea how she does it, but she's still putting up good numbers (she's benched and deadlifted 400 in competition and should put up something close to 300 RAW in the bench this spring). In her case, I think she's probably just simply genetically strong and ridiculously tough.

In my opinion, she's going to reach a point where the stimuli for her body to get stronger is going to have to be there or else she's going to plateau. We just can't figure out where that point is. I'm also very concerned about limited training predisposing her for tendon and ligament injuries. Part of training isn't just the muscles, its training the other connective tissues.