PDA

View Full Version : Full Range Movements in Westside Routine

RalphL
04-20-2010, 06:52 PM
I was looking at using the "Nuts and Bolts" westside template and using deficit pulls, low box squat, free squat, and full deadlifts for ME lower and incline, 1 board, CG bench, and regular bench for ME upper. Anything wrong with using full ROM movements? I'm a raw lifter and this is my first time using westside. I also do not have access to chains/specialty bars.

Lones Green
04-20-2010, 07:00 PM
Nothing wrong at all with using full range movements IMO. Especially for a raw lifter

RalphL
04-20-2010, 07:42 PM
Also- should I be shooting for PRs every ME day? Say I'm not feeling like adding weight on my DL/squat, is simply doing about 3 sets in the 90-100%% range enough? And should I be doing strictly 1rms, or should I be incorporating 3rm and 5rms as well?

vdizenzo
04-20-2010, 08:06 PM
When I was running WS for my raw bench I shot for a pr every week. I'd do a different exercise each week and then deload on the fourth week.

NickAus
04-20-2010, 08:22 PM
I love 2's and 3s and find they help a lot, same for my training partner.

Good luck, you seem to be on the right track!!

Travis Bell
04-20-2010, 08:54 PM
You need to look for PRs every week. That's how you make progress

What is the "Nuts and Bolts" version of Westside? I've never heard of it.

rockofages
04-20-2010, 09:03 PM
You need to look for PRs every week. That's how you make progress

What is the "Nuts and Bolts" version of Westside? I've never heard of it.

I think it is from an EFS training manual.

RalphL
04-20-2010, 09:09 PM
I bought a book from EFS that has various westside templates in it.
http://i43.tinypic.com/2qb4q5v.jpg
http://i41.tinypic.com/16k3jbt.jpg
http://i41.tinypic.com/j0e0dx.jpg

Suprman1020
04-20-2010, 10:45 PM