PDA

View Full Version : I love being a skinny bastard

MadChef
05-01-2010, 12:21 PM
Why you ask? Because my goal is not to bulk, or to gain mass. Only strength, power and speed. I am currently training for mixed martial arts with a focus on muay thai and jiujitsu. I have been boxing for years, and now I am finally making the transition. I feel (and have been told) that my body type is much more suited for muay thai and jiujitsu as I have extremely long arms and legs for my 165 weight class (6'2", 175) though I am extremely strong and wirey. So, there's a little background on me. I am also a culinary student, I am certified in nutrition, I work as a nutritional consultant and cook at the Westin Hotel in downtown Detroit.

I'm in the gym about three days a week hitting weights, the other three days in my week are spent outside at the park, running circuits involving stairs, doing HIT sprints, pushups and various plyometrics. I also do some strongman type stuff for power such as truck pulling, fireman carries and pressing heavy implements (anything from heavy blocks of concrete to logs).

This journal will focus mostly on my routine in the gym, but I will include my other training as a side note.
I have martial arts classes and sparring 3 days a week. A lot of people tell me I should cut back and make some time for myself, but I love everything I do in life and consider it all "for myself".

In the gym I focus on powerlifting, olympic lifting, and bodyweight stuff; no bodybuilding (if it won't carry over to fighting, I don't waste my time doing it).

My numbers right now are 265 on squat, 200 on bench, and 385 on deadlift. I like my strength where its at, but I would someday like to bench 225, and squat 315. Thank you all for any input you might have to offer and God speed!

Liftersize
05-01-2010, 06:49 PM