PDA

View Full Version : Torn Labrum Question

Travis Bell
05-15-2010, 08:52 PM
No I didn't tear mine lol

I have a friend though who says he tore his training at a local highschool gym. He went in, got an MRI I'm told and it was indeed torn.

His doc of course recommended surgery, however he's a mechanic full time so he wants to wait until August (not my recommendation either lol) to get the surgery because that recovery down time will work out better for him. It's a slap tear by the way

The doc agreed and said that the torn labrum shouldn't bother him.

Oddly though he is in some pretty extensive pain, to the point where he has a difficult time sleeping at night.

I have no personal experience with torn labrums, but I've known people in the past who have had a torn one and they never seemed to have just throbbing pain non stop. Usually the pain was limited to a certain angle of pressing or pulling movements.

Does this guys amount of pain sound right? I'm a little concerned he's got something else going on in there and that his doctor is giving him poor advice.

dammstrate
05-15-2010, 09:28 PM
I had a torn labrum surgically repaired about 18 months ago. I hurt it unracking heavy bench weight
by myself (yes, not smart). it would hurt only at specific motions and positions of the bench press and some
overheads. Worked around it for 6 months, rarely if ever does rehab fix a labrum tear as there is nothing
to pin the cartilage back to the bone, and there is very poor blood flow. GET IT FIXED. They put two anchors
throught and sinched it down. In a sling for about a week (they wanted 3-4 but if you just don't move your
arm, you are ok). Less than 6 months post surgery i was hitting bench PRs.

A SLAP tear is a very extensive tear, worse than mine. It goes from front to back over the top of the shoulder.
Despite this, without movement he shouldn't be in much pain at all. Movement or sleeping on it oddly sure