PDA

View Full Version : Journal of a Slacking Lifter

Bob_1986
05-24-2010, 08:36 PM
I have been lifting on and off, mostly off, for the last eight years. Through ignorance, injuries, heavy school work loads, and just downright laziness I have stagnated and have never been able to break through the beginning lifters level. This journal is an affirmation to myself to stay motivated, stay on track and achieve my goals.

Goal: To lower my body fat percentage and increase my strength and muscle mass. (I know that goals are supposed to be specific but at the moment I am happy as long as I can see a downward trend in my body fat percentage and an upward trend in my strength and muscle mass.)

Or should I create mini goals? I would love to be able to keep track of my body fat percentage but I do not own anything that can measure it, I am also a member of Golds Gym and they can not measure it either. I would watch my weight, but weight does not really mean much.

I am doing program 2 A-B-A-B

I have done the first two days of the program and here is where I am at...
Bench: 125 (6RM)
Squat: 155 (6RM)
Dead lift: 125 (6RM)

Weight: 196.9
Height: 5'7
Body Fat: 20-25%

Before pictures to follow soon.

Off Road
05-24-2010, 10:34 PM
Welcome aboard Bob. Glad you joined us in here.

Joe Black
05-25-2010, 01:58 AM
Good to have you here.

The biggest AHA moment I had in the last 5 years in respect to lifting was to focus on ONE goal and let the others truly be secondary goals.

For the last 6 months I have focused purely on getting lean and sure, I am hitting the gym hard and trying to get stronger, but ultimately as long as I am getting lighter and leaner, my goal is being achieved.

If you set your diet up well, eat good, clean foods and have a good pre and post workout meal/shake you can progress strength-wise whilst cutting, I know I have. But just don;t beat yourself up if you don't, particularly as you get depeer into the cut.

if you need any help with diet, just let me know!