PDA

View Full Version : Protein shakes dilemma.....

zahmed
06-30-2010, 04:14 AM
Hi newbie here,
I have been lifting for about 6 months and have started to drink protein shakes only post workout. I am thinking of drinking my shake everyday (as it says on the instructions!) in order to bulk up. I was just wondering if I did drink a shake everyday & did bulk up, would I have to continue drinking a shake everyday to maintain the bulk? Or can I stop drinking so regular & still keep the weight/muscle?
Many thanks for any help on this
Cheers

Joe Black
06-30-2010, 04:35 AM
To be honest, I think you are expecting too much from a protein shake.

Bulking up requires an excess of calories over a prolonged period of time - the addition of a daily protein shake isn't going to bulk you up. Because they contain mosyl protein, the overall calories in many of them come in around 100 calories which is pretty small.

Don't get me wrong, when trying to gain weight using a protein shake is a good idea, to help keep protein high and particularly during post workout... But if you think simply adding one is going to allow you to bulk up, you're going to be disaapointed.

Here are two very good articles related to eating for size, check them out

http://www.wannabebig.com/diet-and-nutrition/to-bulk-or-to-cut-that-is-the-question-or-is-it/

http://www.wannabebig.com/diet-and-nutrition/eating-optimally-for-massive-size-and-strength/

Also if bulking is your goal, consider taking creatine too.

zahmed
06-30-2010, 05:09 AM
Daniel thanks for the reply,