PDA

View Full Version : help! Is putting on weight around chest and stomach area normal for a beginner?

I_Esta_5
08-04-2010, 06:50 PM
I'm a beginner weight lifter doing SS for a couple of months now I'm 5'11 185lb and BMI is 25 but I'm starting to notice I'm gaining weight mostly around my stomach & chest area. I'm concerned that i'm getting husky. Is this normal for beginners to weight training?

tom183
08-04-2010, 07:24 PM
Are you counting calories? If you're gaining more fat around your midsection that you'd like you're proabably eating too many calories.

I_Esta_5
08-05-2010, 07:58 AM
Are you counting calories? If you're gaining more fat around your midsection that you'd like you're proabably eating too many calories.

No. believe it or not, I'm not taking in as much calories as i should. i take only about 1800-2100 calories daily and about 150-200 g of protein unfortunately becuz i am unable to purchase food at the moment.

i try to maintain this intake but getting this amount is a struggle everyday, i get it mostly from protein shakes but im not sure how long i can keep that up. not really food. unless my parents cook dinner, that is.

HomelessTrainer
08-05-2010, 03:16 PM
No. believe it or not, I'm not taking in as much calories as i should. i take only about 1800-2100 calories daily and about 150-200 g of protein unfortunately becuz i am unable to purchase food at the moment.

i try to maintain this intake but getting this amount is a struggle everyday, i get it mostly from protein shakes but im not sure how long i can keep that up. not really food. unless my parents cook dinner, that is.

Why is there no food available for you, this seems very odd that protein shakes are the only source of intake.

Joe Black
08-06-2010, 02:29 AM
For a start are you ACTUALLY eating 1800-2000? How are you counting those calories? Most people tend to estimate their calorie content and are massively suprised when they count them for real (use something like fitday.com)