PDA

View Full Version : Gear/Squat Suit Question

CiceroBrian
08-11-2010, 02:34 PM
Hello All,

How much assistance should I expect from a squat or deadlift suit? Or are wraps sufficient and do I need a belt?
I am pretty new to powerlifting and most of the gear leaves me a little confused, I just ordered an Inzer Bench Shirt and while on the site I was looking at Squat and DL Suits, but I am a little confused as to the benefits of training/using them or if they would even be useful for me at this point.
As a starting point I squat and deadlift somewhere in the 500 lb range, and I bench without a shirt using 385 for between 6-8, but I have not tried a 1 RM max in years (for fear of the results). I have always trained with good form (squats below parallel, pause on the bench) in the 6-8 rep range but I have noticed that almost all the powerlifting protocols call for a reduced rep range and a wide variety of explosive assistance work, subsequently I am a bit lost as to whether I should work up to using gear or whether I should just get acclimated to it now.
My goal is to somehow get a 2000 LB total in the next 24 months through any combination of numbers, I am in my 40's so I get to lift as a Master and I will be lifting in either the 275 or 308 class depending on how much my body grows or shrinks from the training.
Sorry for the long winded post, I appreciate any help you can give me.

barbell01
08-11-2010, 04:19 PM
just order a pair of briefs and get nuts! and a belt yes.

barbell01
08-11-2010, 04:20 PM
O, and your definitly gonna wanna find a group of benchers to help you out with that shirt. DO NOT go at it alone! warning.

MarcusWild
08-11-2010, 04:49 PM
Step 1: Find a group of powerlifters to train with.

It speeds up the learning curve an incredible amount. You can search for a powerlifting gym near you.

http://www.powerliftingwatch.com/node/4420

ScottYard
08-12-2010, 03:11 PM