PDA

View Full Version : What Exactly does "RAW" Mean?

kendals
08-15-2010, 12:48 AM
I know this is a super dumb question, but I am slightly confused...

I've read here and there that RAW means, basically, you do your lifts with no special equipment. I assumed this meant no lifting shirts, squat suits, wraps, straps, and so on,

However (this is where I got confused) I see videos of guys doing RAW lifts who seem to be wearing wearing suits and wraps and gloves and straps out the ying yang.

So, just to clear things up, what does RAW mean? And what exactly is considered "Special Equipment"?

I'm new to the whole powerlifting competition thing, so any help understanding this stuff is much appreciated.

Thanks

ScottYard
08-15-2010, 05:35 AM
Raw means what ever you think it does. Some feds allow just a belt, some allow a belt and wrist wraps, Some feds allow a belt and wrist and knee wraps. Just lift in the feds you agree with as you have choices.

In no fed is theyre raw division allowing any type of brief suit or shirt though.

ScottYard
08-15-2010, 05:38 AM
Almost forgot........some feds allow neoprene sleeves while some feds allow heavy cloth sleeves. So again raw is what you want it to be lol.

_ROBERTiNHO_
08-15-2010, 05:40 AM
You didn't see suits, you saw singlets.

Jake Impastato
08-15-2010, 05:40 AM
Right now raw is one of two things, with or without knee wraps. That's how the records read. A belt is a given . Wrist wraps don't add any weight to your lifts nor do knee sleeves. Both serve as a "comfort" thing for the lifter. Knee wraps can add plenty weight to a squat that is why knee wrap meets have much higher numbers than non knee wrap meets.

ScottYard
08-15-2010, 06:24 AM
I've seen guys get 30 lbs from elite and apt sleeves.

1400total
08-15-2010, 10:13 AM