PDA

View Full Version : Bench Press Training

smitsky
10-19-2010, 06:35 AM
I have been competing for 3 years. I have done a total of 9 meets in the WNPF, USAPL, and IPA so far. I am 5'9" and fluctuate between 179-193 lbs.

I usually compete Full Powerlifting, but have done a Bench Only meet when injured. I will record my Bench Press sessions here.

I am currently injured, not being able to Deadlift.

I plan to travel to New England with my training partner on Dec. 11th where I will either compete in the 198's and take a token Deadlift or Bench Only.

smitsky
10-19-2010, 06:39 AM
Monday October 18th:

Bodyweight: 187 1/4 lbs.

Could not get the shirt to touch tonight. I'm still try to use the 43 Fury. I decided to try to break this bad boy in without using boards. Vinny Dizenzo told me he liked the idea of me trying to lower the weight 'till the shirt locked up, and then press it back up. I did this with 275 in the beginning. I fished for the groove and didn't feel as if I found it. My training partner stayed right with me shadowing the bar and if I couldn't push anything up on my own, he came in quick. I think the 295 was my best lift since it came close to touching and I was able to press it back up on my own. I lifted my head from the bench, which is not allowed in the USAPL.

Didn't have time for anything else, so finished off the session with a PR of 75's X 15 in the Dumbbell Bench Press Repetition Method.

Today's Workout:

Bench Press:

Bar X 15 X 2 Sets
135 X 5
155 X 4
175 X 3
185 X 3
205 X 3
225 X 2
235 X 1
245 X 1
255 X 1
275 X 3 (43 fury on; no touch)
295 X 1 (no touch)
315 X 0 (no touch)
325 X 0 (no touch)

Bench Press Dumbbell Repetition Method:

75's X 15 (PR)

smitsky
10-21-2010, 06:40 AM
Bar went flying through the air and landed on my head to open up a pretty bad gash on my head last night because me and my training partner did something stupid with Reverse Bands.

The session went like this:

Bench Press:

Bar X 15 X 2
135 X 3
155 X 3
175 X 3