PDA

View Full Version : conventional/sumo pulling

jtteg_x
10-25-2010, 05:50 PM
I pull best at sumo but want to see what my weaknesses are. When I do conventional, I am slow at the bottom of the pull but strong at lockout. However, when I pull sumo I am fast at bottom but slow at lockout. What weakness does this sound like? I am suspecting lower back and/or hamstrings are weak. Have no access to a GHR. Any ideas to improve? Wide squats?

JSully
10-25-2010, 06:58 PM
I'm not a pro but it sounds like glutes/hams to me..

try GMs and heavy RDLs as well as glute thrusts & bridges..

if your ass is shooting up doing conventional, I would say it's your lower back and lots of GMs are in your future..

just my $.02

Liftersize
10-25-2010, 11:30 PM
im going to say weak quads

LanceGoyke
10-26-2010, 08:42 AM
What are you trying to improve?

Your sumo pull is fast off the floor because you can load your hamstrings a lot.
Your conventional pull is slow off the floor because you can't load your hamstrings and/or they are weak.

Your sumo pull is slow at the lockout because your glutes are too weak for it (think relatively, comparing glutes to your hip flexors), and the leverage is bad.
Your conventional pull is fast at lockout because the leverage is good.

Think TALL when you lift. You should not be using your low back to lift weights. It's inefficient and dangerous.

themavinator
11-01-2010, 08:08 PM
What are you trying to improve?

Your sumo pull is fast off the floor because you can load your hamstrings a lot.
Your conventional pull is slow off the floor because you can't load your hamstrings and/or they are weak.

Your sumo pull is slow at the lockout because your glutes are too weak for it (think relatively, comparing glutes to your hip flexors), and the leverage is bad.
Your conventional pull is fast at lockout because the leverage is good.

Think TALL when you lift. You should not be using your low back to lift weights. It's inefficient and dangerous.