PDA

View Full Version : Grip and upper back strength on Westside

danki
11-05-2010, 09:47 AM
Hey everyone, long time lurker, but this is my first post here. I have my training log over at teamstaley.com, but their forums dont get too much traffic, so I figured Id ask for advice here....

http://www.teamstaley.com/showthread.php?t=13772&page=44

Im 26 years old, 5'11" 210lbs. I have quite a few years lifting experience but only recently have I started focusing on strength. My ultimate goal is to be BIG, strong and somewhat lean, but first off I want to focus on getting to 300/400/500.

Im currently training similar to westside, as you can see by my log, but there are some slight modifications. I dont compete, and probably never will, and all training is done raw.

In the past, I spend a lot of time doing dealifts and pullups, so my posterior chain was pretty strong. I pulled a 405 deadlift quite a while back when I weighed 180'ish. So in bringing up my lifts, I focused more on squat, and leg strength, as well as triceps and shoulder strength.

Well, I think ive gotten to the point where my back is a limiting factor, as well as my grip. My last ME lower day, I tried pulling a straight leg deadlift from blocks for 415, but failed due to grip and maybe upper back. 405 went up pretty easily. Im sure with straps, I could probably pull around 450, and 500 isn't a long ways off.

As for bech, im not possative that my back is holding me back, but im sure more size/strength wouldn't hurt.

QUESTION: So im just wondering what others have done on westside to bring up their grip and back strength/size?

I was contemplating adding a "back day" similar to WS4FB, or just training my back muscles 2-4 sessions a week, upper and lower.

I was also thinking of something like this for exercise breakdown:

Heavy exercises
Rack pull
Yates rows
Pullups

Lighter exercises
DB rows
Pullups
Facepulls
Rear shrugs