PDA

View Full Version : Good mornings? .. and gear!

PLjaysmith
12-02-2010, 05:17 AM
for anybody reading i would like some input, im going to focus alot on good mornings over the next 10 weeks and see how they transfer my lifts(Sq/Dl primarily)...

i have a tendancy to fall forward in the squat which i know can be fixed with verbal cueing +technique improvements, its mainly due to my hips firing first which im working on!... but since i started training never been a big fan of them, almost scared of them! hence why i dont know alot about them but i know alot of lifters especially the old westside focused alot on them as a means to working the posterior chain... i need one for my M/e movements and im thinking suspended/concentric good mornings but from the pins in the rack (5 rep maxes) and just strict GM's for assistance work when my M/e movement isnt a good morning

also, i want to start training in some gear which i already have and have used a few times... i was thinking of putting the suit on for D/E squats straps down almost as a pair of briefs and just working them in on M/E movements wherever possible... and same concept for the shirt, just obviously not speed work (following a M/E.. D/E approach)

thanks in advance fella's

JSully
12-02-2010, 06:28 AM
I'm not a gear whore so I can't comment on the gear, however GMs, IMO are fantastic for both squats and pulls (or should I say presses? lulz). A strong GM (and lats) will allow you to lock your back in place when you dip your ass as you begin your pull. Heavy GMs and single handedly fixed the issue I had with my ass shooting up on my deads (probably some abwork did as well, but I put a hell of a lot more focus into GMs than abs). A strong GM also fixed the issue I had when my ass would fall forward on a squat as I just couldn't keep my back tight and in-line on ME movements.