PDA

View Full Version : Noob here! Help me understand protein intake

DjArcadian
12-16-2010, 09:11 AM
Here's what I DO understand. I know that if I'm weight training I should consume 1 gram of protein for every 1 pound of lean mass I have. I'm 190 lbs with about 20% bodyfat. That leads me to believe I need about 150 grams of protein a day.

Now, what I'm not fully understanding is how much of that protein should be consumed immediately pre and post workout and how often I should consume protein throughout the rest of the day. I only eat 3 meals a day which would make each meal 50 grams of protein. The body can only absorb so much protein per hour so I'm wondering if consuming all that protein in only 3 meals is detrimental. I would break up my consumption into more meals but my schedule doesn't really allow for that.

So what's the recommend schedule for protein intake? Is it wasteful to consume too much in a single meal? Any advice or information is welcomed.

Dan Fanelli
12-16-2010, 09:17 AM
Just get it all in. It's not going to matter much how you do it. And you can afford to go higher than 150g.

r2473
12-16-2010, 12:26 PM

Behemoth
12-16-2010, 01:02 PM
A lot of those questions are heavily debated.

150 should be your bare minimum. Unless you're trying to lose weight, shoot for more than that and if its in 3-4 meals thats fine. If you can do 6 then do 6. If not don't stress it. People worry about these little things, they're really pretty unimportant.

Behemoth
12-16-2010, 01:07 PM
40g minimum preworkout 40g minimum post workout. I shoot for 55/55.

RichMcGuire
12-16-2010, 03:01 PM

150 should be your bare minimum. Unless you're trying to lose weight, shoot for more than that and if its in 3-4 meals thats fine. If you can do 6 then do 6. If not don't stress it. People worry about these little things, they're really pretty unimportant.

This is good advice.

Codeguru
12-17-2010, 02:18 AM