PDA

View Full Version : Question about how to do RE work???

Dan Fanelli
01-04-2011, 10:43 PM
I got a few questions about how I perform my assistance work. Im still new with the westside methods, and not sure about the terminology.

But what ive been doing, is going a bit heavier and lower volume on my ME days, and lighter and higher volume no my DE days. But the same exercises.

So on my ME day, I did DB bench after my ME work. I worked up to a heavy set of around 10 reps, and got 90's for 9 reps.

Today was my DE day, and I decided to try for 4x15 with 65's. I though this would be pretty easy. Boy was I wrong. My reps ended up being:

My endurance has always sucked, so im wondering how I should work on this.

I see a few options:

1) Start with even lighter weight or take longer rest breaks so I can get 15 reps on all sets with the same weight.

2) Decrease the weight each set so that I can get 15 reps on all sets.

3) Decrease the reps on each set so that I can use the same weight on all sets.

Also, do you think endurance like this is better trained by avoiding fatigue (stopping way short of failure and taking longer rest breaks), or training with very close to failure and shorter rest breaks, possibly decreasing the weight (drop sets)???

Thanks guys.

-JM-
01-05-2011, 05:40 AM
Simply put, if you are using RE then yes, the reps will typically become less per set as you work to failure. If you are doing DE work then you will be using weight you know you can get for X amount of reps but you will be pushing/pulling with max speed still whilst reinforcing technique but stopping well before failure.

Its really a case of deciding which one you are doing and why.

There are a few e-books available over on EFS that I found really helpful.

-Basic Training Manual
-The Max Effort Method
-Beginner Training Manual

They detail all this kind of stuff. Well worth the investment.

Dan Fanelli
01-05-2011, 06:03 PM
Thanks justin, I'll look into those.