PDA

View Full Version : Help me set some dieting goals (pics inside)

NoMoreFatChix
02-17-2011, 10:28 AM
Background:

I am 27 year old. I'm tall (190cm or 6 ft 2.8 inches) with a naturally lean build. By most definitions I've seen I would be what is called a hardgainer. I started lifting and eating a lot (for me) of food in August. I went from 75-77kg (165-169 lbs) to 92-93kg (202-204 lbs). For me this was a huge success because I proved for the first time in my life I was able to gain some substantial mass. However, someone with more experience would of course see flaws in what I did; I ate way to much in the beginning (too much whole milk!:P) and got quite a bit of extra fat on my belly and my ass to show for it. When Christmas came I decided I wasn't really comfortable getting fatter. (By the way, when I say fat I don't mean big; I'm still a small guy. It's mostly just a layer on my belly and ass.)

So, since January, I've been a bit stricter with counting calories, and I aimed for hitting maintenance. I've trying to get about 3100-3200 kcal a day, and I think I hit target fairly OK, since my weight haven't moved much in this time. This also happen to be when I started HCT-12, and I just finished my first cycle.

Now:

Last week I decided to go on a calorie deficit, aiming for 2800-2900 a day. I use fitday, but since I eat in dinner at my work cafeteria, I don't have perfect control. So far I seem to able to adjust my diet with acceptable precision though.

The question is whether this is the right way forward.

My long term goals are to gain. I would just like to do it without getting fat, and eventually I guess I want to be fairly ripped. At least a flat stomach. I've been reading stuff from people like Borge Fagerli and Lyle McDonald, and I get the impression they recommend to lean out quite a bit (like close to 10% bf) before you start building at a slow rate.