PDA

View Full Version : Powerlifting and Grappling

MarioTCS
03-01-2011, 11:23 AM
Hello, I am 16 years old and I grapple 6 times a week and i recently started Powerlifting.
Can someone give me some tips on how to combine it together.

I am 168 pounds.

Monday: 1,5h Bjj then i do dead lifts 5x5 220 with lbs and increas by ten pounds every week. I do 5x5 Weighted pull ups and the after I spar for 30 min.
Tuesday: 1,5h wrestling
Wednesday: 1.5h Bjj Bench 5x5 now i am on 120 lbs and i do http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ezHlByHZwXA and anothe 30 min sparring
Thursday: 1,5 h Wrestling
Friday:1,5 h Bjj 5x5 Zercher Squat 5x5 Weighted pull ups
Saturday: Sparring 2h and the grappling circuit.

Can you give me some tips on how to improve my program. I want to gain weight but no fat and I want to stay explosive so i thought about some Snatches.
I am a noob to powerlifting so i need all kind off tips.

StLRPh
03-01-2011, 11:47 AM
Check out Wendler's 5/3/1, solid programming that can be adjusted to meet your goals relatively easily.

NickAus
03-01-2011, 02:11 PM
You are going to need to eat a ton!

Even if you do you will find it hard to put on weight while doing all that in a week, I would not be overly concerned with putting on weight if you want to grapple.

Just limit the weights to the very basics and eat a lot.

Lots of guys want to get bigger and stronger and become good at MMA and look better and become famous and get all the girls in 1 or 2 years.........just focus on one main goal.

Good luck.

blackdove
03-01-2011, 05:26 PM
It pays to have a strong grip if you're a grappler. One way to accomplish that is through thick bar training. But thick bars are hard to find in gyms. There are commercial fat grips out there. They are a bit pricey though, for me at least. If you're looking for alternative fat grips, here's an easy way to make homemade thick bar handles for strong grip (http://www.blackdovenest.com/2011/02/homemade-thick-bar-handles-for-barbell.html) training.