PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Question

amathew
03-07-2011, 11:28 AM
I've been playing with weights for about two years. I've worked my way through a lot of routines, though I often get bored and just move to another routine. I recently finished a year of 5/3/1, and am considering taking a step back to do something like bill starr's 5x5. I have a problem with being consistent in my training.

Does anyone have suggestions for a newbie who's just been running around in circles with little progress?

I'm considering dropping some weight, so I don't know how that will complicate what routine I should follow?

My numbers have increased over the past two years, it's just that I don't stick with a routine.

So, in terms of nutrition and training, what should I do to get on track?
should I just go back and start with 'starting strength'?

I realize that some of these questions are ridiculous, as I really just need to stay on the path
and be consistent.

SplitQuick
03-07-2011, 12:04 PM
First I'd have to ask what your current one rep maxes are? And what were they when you started training?

Also, what's your height/weight/age?

AdamBAG
03-07-2011, 12:22 PM
What is your goal?

Are you trying to be a competitive powerlifter?

amathew
03-07-2011, 01:03 PM
age - 25
height - 5"4
weight - 190 (a little high)

starting 1RM's -
squat - 185
bench - 95
deadlift - 190

current 1RM's - (for the last five months, these numbers haven't increased)
squat - 290
bench - 160 (i suck at bench)
deadlift - 335

When I started lifting, I wanted to compete in powerlifting. But I'm not sure anymore.
If anything, I just want to be healthy, have some muscle mass, and be lean.
However, I may compete one day..just to try it out.

AdamBAG
03-07-2011, 01:29 PM
I'm not sure the powerlifting forum is the place to be if you don't want to compete. I will say though, you need to stick with a training program. As you said, you haven't been consistent. That's likely the biggest issue you have.

SplitQuick