PDA

View Full Version : Is it bad to always pull Sumo?

Clone
03-09-2011, 04:49 PM
I've been pulling Sumo for about 4-5 years now. I started out with Conventional and then tried Sumo and never looked back.

Sumo feels very natural to me. I like the shorter ROM and it seems easier on my lower back than Conv pulls.

I'm 6' tall with long legs and arms.

I recently started toying around with Conv pulls and they are much weaker than my Sumo.

Anywho, is it unsafe to always pull Sumo? Am I creating an unbalance in any way?

Sean S
03-09-2011, 06:31 PM
It depends on what else you are doing in your overall program. My opinion is that most people could probably benefit from pulling in the style opposite than their usually on at least a somewhat regular basis. In general if one style is way stronger than the other it indicates something is probably weaker than it should be. If you don't plan on competing with a conventional stance then you don't "need" to pull that way, but you do probably need to address any potential areas that might be relatively weaker due to only pulling with one style.

ScottYard
03-09-2011, 06:52 PM
Do what suits you. No right or wrong in this game.

Clone
03-10-2011, 04:35 AM
It depends on what else you are doing in your overall program. My opinion is that most people could probably benefit from pulling in the style opposite than their usually on at least a somewhat regular basis. In general if one style is way stronger than the other it indicates something is probably weaker than it should be. If you don't plan on competing with a conventional stance then you don't "need" to pull that way, but you do probably need to address any potential areas that might be relatively weaker due to only pulling with one style.

Valid points.

Since I hardly ever pull Conv it feels foreign right now. Its hard to tell how close it is to my Sumo.

I should do a few Conv cycles to see where I'm really at.

Clone
03-10-2011, 04:36 AM