PDA

View Full Version : To Cut or Recomp?

GazzyG
03-13-2011, 11:31 AM
Right, I've made some decent progress in strength the last few months, gaining a bit of weight in the process.

Obviously some of this weight gain has been fat, not muscle. I'm used to having a pretty flat stomach, but now it's a bit softer than I'm used to.

My question is, should I do a little bit of a cut now, trim off some fat till I have a nice flat stomach again, then slowly carry on gaining?

Or if I continue as I am (3000kcals a day) would I at some point begin to recomp naturally, making doing a cut now a little pointless?

Sorry if I sound a bit silly - I'm just a lifter, not a bodybuilder. My degree is in languages, not nutrition, haha!

Thanks for the help.

Gaz

f=ma
03-13-2011, 12:59 PM
there are a few rhetorical questions you need to ask yourself in order to answer your question.

1. are you disgusted with your appearance?
2. do you actually have muscle mass to make dieting worthwhile?
3. do you have the precision & patience required to recomp successfully?

i only consider myself a lifter. but in doing so, one needs to learn how to use nutrition to meet the goal, whether its strength, appearance or both. i'm a big proponent of being as lean as possible during the summer months to maximize reproduction ability. being that you're an aussie, this is your winter, yes? in your case, i would try to clean up your diet, be a little more careful with your cal levels, and keep gaining... provided, of course, that the answers to the above questions put you onto that path.

Behemoth
03-13-2011, 01:51 PM
Nottingham England UK is in australia?

Gazzy - Tim's point #3 is pretty much what I was going to say. To successfully recomp it's going to require dead on precision for a few long time for only meager results. As well as a diet deviation may wipe out a months worth of progress as oppose to just a few days after dieting hard.

GazzyG
03-13-2011, 02:33 PM