PDA

View Full Version : scrawny guy 107lbs 5'10

Agrippa r
04-03-2011, 04:54 AM
my target is to gain 52lbs in next 52 weeks 1year. i've got a really tiny face because i am emaciated. if i work out my neck, will that add mass to my face? im starting stronglifts5x5 program. i want my face to fill out as i look sick right now. and also as a beginner should i gain 1lb or more per week? starting diet 2700kcal 30% protein 30%fat 40% carbs. thanks

creatiive
04-03-2011, 06:19 AM
Hey,

Im also a beginner (started 2 months ago) so i can only give you a little info. I have about the same cals per day and percentages. 8 weeks in i have gained almost 8 lbs, so 1lb a week is what im seeing and have been told its a realistic amount... you can probably get it a bit higher but apparently you can only grow about 0.5kgs of muscle a month.. so it seems if your gaining 3lbs a week then most of it will be fat.

Id say try and get a consistant 1lb a week as a first step? You need the fat though by the sounds of it. So i wouldnt worry and just go for it - i found getting a consistant base of steady increase works well and gets you into a routine.

colinS3
04-03-2011, 09:22 AM
Hey man, welcome to the site!

If you want to seriously gain weight you need to eat a surplus of calories, so as long as your 2700kcal is greater than your maintenance level you'll gain weight. You may need to increase it to 3000 or more if you're gaining too slowly because us skinny guys burn calories pretty fast. Just how things are for us haha.
*** Your maintenance level is the amount of calories your body burns in a single day - it is essentially the amount of calories you can eat without gaining or losing weight. You may need to experiment a little bit to find it out for your body (everyone is different) but as long as you record your calories it's pretty easy. You could also just go by gut instinct to decide whether you're eating a surplus or not if you have a pretty good idea of everything.