PDA

View Full Version : Extreme weight loss/muscle maintenance plan

bobbydeniro
04-20-2011, 11:56 AM
Hi everyone, first time poster!

I'm a 22 year old female, 5'5" and 132 Ibs.

Basically, I've been losing weight/working out for about 6 months now and have lost a good deal of weight, something like 20Ibs. However, looking at my body, it appears to have been mostly muscle and water, because I'm still a bit wobbly looking in places. I have only a couple of weeks before I go on holiday where I plan to wear a bikini and really want to lose some of this flab.

I was recently intrigued by a rapid weight loss diet that claims to spare muscle but lose large amounts of fat in a short time.It is called '2 shakes and 1 chicken salad', and as the name implies, you drink a meal replacement protein shake for breakfast and lunch, and then have a large salad with a couple of chicken breasts for dinner. I am guessing that the calories on this diet add up to about 1,000 - 1,200 per day.

Since up til this point, my training has been almost exclusively cardio-based, I am starting this '2 shakes 1 salad' diet as well as starting to do resistance training 2-3 times a week, with a short cardio session on 2 of those days in addition.

I understand that these calories are too low for a long-term diet, and of course I don't plan to follow the diet for much longer than 2 weeks, just up until my holiday. Yes, it's a crash diet and yes, it's against most of the cardinal diet rules people talk about on other websites, but I'm fairly desperate, and all I want to know is, will it work? Remember that I'm a first-time weight-trainer and as I understand it, people like me can expect to see something called 'Newbie Gains' in my first few weeks of starting a new lifting program. I am also aware that because of the high protein content of the diet, I am unlikely to lose much muscle. Is this true?