PDA

View Full Version : Do I need to lose weight?

Toufu
04-20-2011, 12:16 PM
Hi everybody, I am new to here, and I am new to bodybuilding as well.

I am 170 cm (about 5'7) tall, 155 lbs, is that a normal weight? (27 year old)
I think I am too 'fat', my waist is 33' and hip is 38'... however...my chest is very thin...
I do not know whether I should try to lose weight? (as my chest and arm are very thin already....)
or should I just focus on lifting?

If I do need lose weight first, is there any suggestion on the diet?

Thanks in advance..

killxswitch
04-20-2011, 12:33 PM
Disclaimer: I am no expert. And I am 6'2 and 245 lbs so my perspective is very different.

Any man that is 155 lbs should not be trying to lose weight IMO. My guess is if you worked on getting stronger and eating quality food you would experience a body recomp where your arms and chest would grow and the lower body "bulk" (which cant' be that much at 155 lbs) would not look so bulky. Short answer, if I were you I would not think about weight/fat loss right now.

4g64fiero
04-20-2011, 03:34 PM
If your BF% is > than 20 then I would definitely lose weight for health reasons. Figure out your body fat percentage.

With a 33" waist, I say bulk.

Toufu
04-20-2011, 06:07 PM
Thanks guys, I think my first objective is to get the fat out of my waist. I tried to work out 3 days and 2 hours each day in a week, however, the result is not really good, or I should say not noticeable...., I start to think that may be my diet problem, can any one help please, I read the past posts, however, I do not quite understand...

4g64fiero
04-20-2011, 06:38 PM
Thanks guys, I think my first objective is to get the fat out of my waist. I tried to work out 3 days and 2 hours each day in a week, however, the result is not really good, or I should say not noticeable...., I start to think that may be my diet problem, can any one help please, I read the past posts, however, I do not quite understand...