PDA

View Full Version : Critique Me on My DL :)

MNparisect
05-08-2011, 11:36 PM
315 @ 170, not alot but I just started deadlifting in my routine about a 3 weeks ago. I really like the lift, and this is my 1 rep raw max. I feel like I can get more but I want to be sure my motions and lifting techinque is right before that. Any critisism and help is much appriciated!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nCewsrrn2Ps

f=ma
05-09-2011, 03:09 AM
ok.. so i am not a deadlift expert. but this is what i can see: the bar is too far away from you when you start the lift, you have very little leg drive if any, descent looks pretty awkward.. and personally, i would rather go barefoot than wear crosstrainers/whatever those are

mchicia1
05-09-2011, 07:30 AM
Pause at 0:24. Your back looks like a banana and it is at a 90 degree angle. While the deadlift won't have your torso upright as much as a squat, you still need to try to create a solid arch at the bottom of the movement and really sit back so you drive off the floor with your legs.

Also, lose the gloves...you grip better without them.

With all that being said, your strength is good on that weight...the cause of your form issues is not from the weight being too heavy, it is just stuff you have to work on.

You really just need to learn how to bend at your hips and arch your back, you can see even on the descent of the lift, you are bending with your upper back.

MNparisect
05-09-2011, 10:13 AM
Thanks guys, I will work on the form. I'll have another video soon to see if I got the form right, I appriciate it!

f=ma
05-09-2011, 10:55 AM
in all fairness, quite a few taller lifters have a rounded upper back, myself included. i cant even reach the bar without rounding from the ground

4g64fiero
05-09-2011, 11:10 AM
in all fairness, quite a few taller lifters have a rounded upper back, myself included. i cant even reach the bar without rounding from the ground