PDA

View Full Version : Protein Advice

skully1
08-19-2011, 07:50 PM
I m 5'10, 175 lbs, 30 years old, and I just started lifting again for the first time in years. 2 quick questions: how many grams of protein should i take in each day to build some mass? When I used to lift, I did grams in body weight but this seemed almost impossible to keep up. Secondly, how long will it reasonably take before I see some real results (when I used to lift, I think I gave up after like 6 weeks or so)? Thanks.

Off Road
08-19-2011, 08:00 PM
1 gram protein for 1 lb bodyweight is about right. If you find it hard to get enough then supplement with a quality proten powder like Nitrean (see my sig for link).

It will take you a lot longer than 6 weeks to see any significant difference. In fact, it may take years to realize your goals. Just get started and make it a part of your weekly schedule.

Alex.V
08-19-2011, 08:02 PM
Protein alone doesn't build mass, calories do. And it'll take as long as it has to. You're asking the wrong questions.

Off Road
08-19-2011, 08:04 PM
Protein alone doesn't build mass, calories do.
Belial makes a good point. Eat enough total calories to see a positive change on the scale every week. Most guys feel that gaining 1 lb a week is a good goal.

skully1
08-19-2011, 08:19 PM
Thanks...and how many calories should I be consuming? And from what types of foods? Is the calorie intake as important as protein intake?

tom183
08-19-2011, 10:05 PM
Read the stickies in the diet and nutrition forum.

thecityalive
08-20-2011, 01:02 AM
1 gram protein for 1 lb bodyweight is about right. If you find it hard to get enough then supplement with a quality proten powder like Nitrean (see my sig for link).

It will take you a lot longer than 6 weeks to see any significant difference. In fact, it may take years to realize your goals. Just get started and make it a part of your weekly schedule.