PDA

View Full Version : couple of deadlift questions...

thewicked
11-07-2011, 10:12 PM
been just playing around since after the meet a few weeks ago trying exercises I've never done before and did deadlifts with chains tonight. Ended up with 450lbs bar weight and 240lbs chain weight and ran out of chains so called it a night. Pulled 450+200lbs of chains easily without a belt and 450 with 240lbs of chains even easier WITH a belt. I was curious about what the initial starting weight would roughly be around? The chains were all completely off the floor at lockout and having never done this exercise before made my curious...

I'm thinking about working up to 505 bar weight and then start adding chains next time I try this. I liked it because it allowed me to work my lockout but still work full range of motion and forced me to focus on proper technique to execute as it go heavier both progressively each lift and total weight wise as I moved up.

My next question is my back position. I pull with a slightly rounded back. I always have. Feels natural and has always given me a strong pull. I arch hard and do this or that that is supposed to help but it significantly drops my working weights. Is this gonna hinder my deadlift in the long run not arching my back hard or atleast not rounding it as much as possible?

Also now that I'm working this over in my head...should I be engaging or tightening my lats at all during the deadlift because I don't.

Thanks for the help guys!

SELK
11-07-2011, 10:58 PM
I would watch the overload on the deadlift, when you have a huge discrepancy between the amount of weight on the floor vs the lockout your timing/technique is going to be off with straight weight. I learned this after doing a bunch of reverse band work and realizing it was nothing like my contest deadlift because i could maintain my form so much better with less weight and when i got to lockout i wasn't rounded over as usual.