PDA

View Full Version : Solo or with affiliate?

thecityalive
11-07-2011, 10:46 PM
Just curious to see who is CrossFitting where.
I know a lot of people have been CrossFitting at home/solo. Curious to see how that works out for people when the CrossFit community has a very positive group dynamic to it.

If you are with an affiliate, what are your dues?
The affiliate I trained at had dues of $100/month (before leaving our commercial gym).

alexdrum111
11-07-2011, 11:58 PM
Well crossfitting is a good exersize & it helps a lot to main-ten your entire body. maximum persons try it at their home.

Patz
11-08-2011, 03:42 AM
Affiliate

$125

Happy to pay it. I was paying $75 but voluntarily bumped it up to help support the gym.

mike mcgee
11-08-2011, 05:43 AM
Three years on my own (various reasons) at a commerical gym
Currently I am a trainer at an affiliate. The deal I made with them is work for free use of facility...

Disadvantages of training on my own were, lack of equipment (kettlebells, medballs, ropes, etc...), limited ability (gym rules) to do olympic lifts at commercial gym, with running WODs, had to use treadmill (and hope no one jumped on it in between sets).

If you want the true CrossFit experience, train at an affiliate. Even if just for a few months, then decide how you want to continue. Some boxes offer, punch cards, or memberships that are cheaper if you only do 2 or 3 x's a week.

RFabsik
11-08-2011, 09:06 AM
I train at home. Partially because I'm individually driven--meaning I like to do things my way. Second, because of the convenience. With kids and work, it's nice to be able to train before work, after work, late at night, any time on the weekend.

But, I think going to a box would be a great experience. First, to get critiques, there are so many movement patterns in CF that having an unbiased eye watch will just clean things up. Second, face to face training/competition can help someone go farther than they thought.